(*Disclaimer: Results may vary from person to person.)

I lost 8 lbs in a month  
Author Picture


I wore the Cold Shoulder for 1 month and lost 8 lbs, going from 178 to 170 lbs. It was easy so easy to use - just take it out of the freezer, wear a few hours, and put it back in.

David Desroches   
Lost my pregnancy weight without exercise!  
Author Picture


As any Mom knows, it's hard to lose weight after pregnancy. You can hardly move, much less exercise. Reducing your calories can effect your milk supply... and supplements? No way while breast-feeding! But wearing The Cold Shoulder for a few hours a day was so easy. The fat just melted off, without exercise, without reducing my food intake, and without questionable supplements!

Jossy   
I went from size 2XL to Medium!  
Author Picture



I began wearing The Cold Shoulder 3 months ago, after seeing it on TV. I have been wearing my vest for 2-3 hours each night. Within a few weeks, people began commenting on my figure, saying I was becoming shapelier; I've gone from size 20 pants to a size 12. I'm also on a diet, however, I have not been exercising. I love wearing my vest and look forward to it each night... The only side effect has been needing to shop for new clothes, but after struggling to lose weight for decades, I'm happy to finally be in that position. Because of my crazy schedule, I usually don't get to wear it until 9 or 10pm, and I leave it on while making dinner, eating, and watching TV until midnight. I really appreciate all the health information that came with the vest, and proudly recommend to my friends that they order it and read the enclosed literature. My roommate is now giving me her clothes which no longer fit, because her vest is helping her as well, and her diet is nowhere as restrictive as mine... I'm a believer! Thank you for your contribution towards effortless weight loss!

Olivia   
Review  
Author Picture


It was not far into using the Cold Shoulder Vest, in less than a month or so that colleagues at work started LOOKING at me and then started commenting to me on my quite noticeable weight loss. I had noticed some difference, but not to the extent that others were noticing – which gave the true picture – the jacket was ACCELERATING the effects of the carbohydrate restricted diet I was on – and it was a joy to see what normally would have taken twice as long to achieve was cut virtually in half the time! I am not only pleased with the progress in the short time in wearing the jacket, but also FEEL A HEALTHFUL EFFECT from it. I am therefore making the vest a lifelong habit, along with a really healthy diet that focuses on (plant based) protein and greens rather than the usual carbs of bread, rice, pasta and desserts. The jacket is definitely a WINNER and accelerates the benefits of all healthful practices. So I say for this magnificent invention by Dr. Hayes for us everyday people, PUT ON YOUR HEALTH!

A.H., McLean, Virginia, USA   
I lost almost a pound a day - 15 lbs in 3 weeks!  
Author Picture


The above shows the proof! I took a photo of me standing on my bathroom scale! I wore the vest as much as I could each day, probably 4-8 hours total. I lost almost a pound per day, from 303 down to 288 lbs in just 3 weeks. Amazing!

Anthony Peters   
Worked so well I shrunk out of it!  
Author Picture


I lost 38 pounds in 4 months.
The addition of the cold vest increased my weight loss by ½ to 2½ pounds per week (varied) compared to the time before the vest. I’ve lost 6 inches off my waist, from a size 54 sport coat to size 46. I broke my foot 2 ½ months ago, and my weight loss rate did not decrease with the removal of exercise.

I wore the vest in the house, sitting by my computer or watching TV. I wore the vest for 1 ½ hours, twice a day. The hardest thing was to remember to fetch the vest out of the freezer and put it on. Once on it isn’t an item of thought, it’s just there - and I don’t think of it till I notice that the ice packs are soft and take it off.

Detailed review
The cold shoulder classic 2.0 vest has worked well for me, but I have out shrunk it. The 1st picture is when I started to use it, the 2nd is how it fits now - way too big. From mid February to (June) I have lost 38 pounds utilizing the vest, and plan on loosing another 30 or so before winter. I have gone down 6 inches in pants size, 1 1/2 inches in neck size, and from a 54 inch sports coat to almost fitting a 46 all with a broken foot so I can’t exercise too much at present. Thanks for making this product available.

At 62 years old, one can still loose weight and size. The cold vest does indeed work quite well. I kept the same diet when the vest arrived in mid to late February. The addition of the cold vest increased my weight loss by ½ to 2½ pounds per week (varied) compared to the time before the vest. Regarding my foot, banged in on a wall in the house back in January - it turned black and blue and was quite tender. I figured I had just bruised it and that it would be heal in a couple of months. I normally use a recumbent stationary bike as well as a total home gym on occasion, and had been till mid April. That was when I had a sharp pain in my foot while on a walk, and went to the doctor’s to have it looked at. In was only then that I learned I had broken the bone where my pinky toe attaches to the foot, and the bone it connected with was fractured.

My walking on the foot since I damaged it prevented healing, so I was given an air cast (boot) to wear all day except showers and sleeping. You can’t walk much with the boot as it is not flexible and has a big height difference with my shoes. Most exercises with it are not practical, so I have been doing very little other than weeding in the garden and yard for the past 2½ months. My weight loss rate did not decrease with the removal of exercise. My vest wearing was always in the house, either sitting working on a computer, or sitting watching TV. I started out, contrary to your directions, wearing the vest for an hour at a time twice a day. Within 2 week I upped the time to 1½ hours as I had adapted to the cold sessions. The hardest thing was to remember to fetch the vest out of the freezer (have a large freezer in the basement) and put it on. Once on it isn’t an item of thought, it’s just there - and I don’t think of it till I notice that the ice packs are soft and take it off.

Ralph Schwarz   
I lost 6 lbs in 30 days despite carb loading!  
Author Picture


Hey, Dan Weecks here from The Talk Around Town Show. I was 206 at the beginning of my experiment of the Cold Shoulder vest. I've been carb loading the last 3 days for the competition and today I weighed in at 200 lbs! I am very excited about my results and have pictures of me wearing the vest after the competition; I found it's also great for immediate muscle recovery.

Dan Weecks   

(*Disclaimer: Results may vary from person to person.)

buton

More User Reviews

Dan Skweres

I’ve been using the cold shoulder for a little over a week and I’m shocked at how well this thing works.  I can literally “feel” my metabolism spinning while wearing the vest.  Additionally, as a side affect of it I feel better so I feel like I am making better eating choices.  It’s a win/win across the board.

 

Mariza Valdez : Shrank out of it! Need smaller size!

I’m one of the lucky people to get my cold shoulder from KickStarter and lose weight with it already! The trouble is my vest is now too big.

Jeremy Harrison:

I am wearing my new Cold Shoulder vest as I type this comment to you. It’s great. I’m wearing it for the first time and I’m very impressed. I purchased [a competitor’s vest which we’ll call the CFB] before this but what prompted my to buy yours as well was the attention to detail in the construction of it. The simple question of how convenient it is to use is not something that people are necessarily going to consider when deciding which of the two products to buy. But, since you only burn the weight if you wear the vest, if it’s a hassle to get on, like so many other weight loss methods, you’ll do it for a while and then drop it. I found the other vest such a pain to put on each time. It was pretty much just a piece of material with a few pockets stitched into it. You had to put all of the ice packs in each time, fling it over your shoulders and fasten it in this convoluted way that, after weeks, still didn’t make sense to me. I love the fact that The Cold Shoulder vest keeps the ice packs in it and I can just throw the whole thing in the freezer. I also appreciate how easy it is to set to my size one time and from then on just throw it on as I would a normal vest. So, thanks for a great product that I can see myself using every day. I work from home so sitting and working in an ice vest in the morning and evening isn’t a problem. 🙂

Certainly a “Cool” Idea that’s working for me….

By B.Higgins on March 28, 2016

Since adding The Cold Shoulder to my overall fitness/diet plan for about 2 hrs daily, I’ve lost about 1.2% or 3.5 lbs. of body fat in the last 90 days! I’m very pleased, because it took me a little more than 365 days to drop the previous 5% body fat before I discovered The Cold Shoulder. At 63, I have some issues from manual labor and sports injuries that limit some physical activity, but this “cool tool” is enabling me to break through a bit of a “plateau” I’d reached in my progress. I just enter the extra 500 calorie deduction in my fitness/nutrition calculator daily and can not only monitor, but plan my success. The Cold Shoulder is a simple, safe, effective and easy to use quality made product!

July 2016 Update from B. Higgins: So, some time ago I purchased a waist wrap with a cold pack pocket in the back, so I put it on first and I place another freeze pack in front on my belly. Then, I put on my Cold Shoulder PRO and them I place a frozen hot water bottle in front behind the front straps and I follow that up by putting a fleece-lined canvas cold weather vest over all of it to help keep the cold in. I normally use it for 2 hours daily. Your simple tool has been an important weapon in attacking my battle of the bulge, I am down to about 29% body fat from 42% about 400 days ago. At 63. I am quite proud of the accomplishment. The Cold Shoulder helped me break through plateaus that may have been to discouraging to push through. The Cold Shoulder is contributing to my continued body fat loss from about 37% near the end of March 2016 to about 29% by July 15th along with the other factors mentioned above… My point being the CS Vest is not totally responsible for the entire journey, but it certainly is assisting me in my continuing my mission to successfully reduce my % body fat. If someone is experiencing “plateaus” trying to do it on their own, I highly recommend adding The Cold Shoulder Vest to their program! I expect to have a progress report in the future to share.

 

 

Helped me get over my weightloss plateau

By Amazon Customer on March 27, 2016

This is the first cold vest I’ve tried. I like the ice packs they use they retain cold for quite awhile. The straps take a bit of fiddling but that’s what you get for one size fits all. When I use this consistently two times during the day for an hour each time I’ve noticed weight loss of .5-1lbs per week. I also walk or bike 5 hours per week and try to watch what I eat and I’m not sure what results would be without that. I’d been at a plateau for several months and this helped me get over my weight-loss plateau.

 

buton

(*Disclaimer: Results may vary from person to person.)

easiest weight loss I’ve ever seen

By Amazon Customer on March 28, 2016

Customer service was great. The product arrived quickly and was easy to adjust to my body. I have a chest style freezer and it’s very easy to put the whole vest laying flat on one side. It’s easy to wear and while I do feel the cold it’s not unbearable. The only reason I give it four instead of five stars is I wish I didn’t have to wear it for two hours a day. Although I have still seen results with less time, I think one hour twice a day is what is suggested. All in all it’s a great product and does what they say.

 

cool solution

By TexasRed on March 29, 2016

I bought this for an offbeat reason, I live in a hot climate and I thought this would be perfect for those long hours spent outside in the heat. I never expected to have 90+ degree already this spring, but we have, and this works really well. I haven’t changed my eating habits but I have lost a couple pounds in the process as well so I think it helps there too. I highly recommend it.

 

Amazingly cold

By Veteran_68w on March 28, 2016

First of all this vest will size up or down to fit anybody. I were it for 2 hours everyday and have had no issues with getting it on or in and out of the freezer. You can defiantly feel how ice chillingly cold it is while wearing it. But on the other hand it’s not an uncomfortable cold. The product really works. I used the vest along with some minimal cardio and have seen a vast improvement in my energy and fat loss goals. The vest literally stays cold for hours. Cheers.

 

While I would like adjustments that are easier to set up

By Lee Gunby on March 27, 2016

The vest is really solid and well made. While I would like adjustments that are easier to set up, once they are set they do not budge. This fits in with my weightloss process and works great. I highly recommend The Cold Shoulder.!!

 

It is a very comfortable. The design is easy to work with and …

By toonist on March 28, 2016

It is a very comfortable. The design is easy to work with and after a minute or two feeling the initial cold of the packs, you can actually forget you are wearing it. Looking forward to using it many more times.

 

Give it a try

By Amazon Customer on March 28, 2016

I would recommend the cold shoulder vest to anyone trying to lose weight. I can’t say that I have lost a lot of weight, but I think it helps and it is comfortable to wear.

 

Product does what it says

By Amazon Customer on March 28, 2016

While the vest is a little cumbersome, the caloric advantage is worth it. I would recommend it.

 

buton

(*Disclaimer: Results may vary from person to person.)

 

Pretty cool product, no pun intended.

By Andrew on March 28, 2016

Works well, it gets really cold. I just need to remember to use it more often.

 

Five Stars

By DAVID B CLARK on March 30, 2016

The vest is more comfortable than I thought. Hoping to get good results!

 

Product fits as promised!

By Carol Carter on March 27, 2016

I have found the fit perfect.

 

From Amazon – Classic:

4.0 out of 5 stars      I almost love it but the time and space to re-cold ice …

By Amazon Customer on December 20, 2015

I’ve been using this since it arrived. I almost love it but the time and space to re-cold ice packs are a bit bothersome.

 

4.0 out of 5 stars   Lost 5 pounds in a month!

By Dennis S on December 19, 2015

The cold shoulder is a very cool device! (See what I did there?)

The best part about this is that you can wear it and go about your day. It looks good enough to wear out in public. I would not, however, where it as part of formal wear as it doesn’t have a very formal look.

In terms of weight loss, the creator gives guidelines on how to not only wear this device, but change your lifestyle so that you can lose weight. I’ve recently hit a plateau on my diet, but the cold shoulder have me that little boost to break though my plateau and lose 5 pounds in a month.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars    I Drank the Kool Aid

By MightyTiki on December 15, 2015

I was very skeptical when purchasing this product. It seemed too good to be true but the inventor makes Dr. Wayne Hayes makes it very clear that this system is not meant to be the “end all, be all” to weight loss. There’s no magic solution, it’s meant to help you burn calories and works effectively with regular exercise and proper diet (no brainer).

The vest is comfortable, wearing it over my clothes for twice a day (morning and evening). Having two layers of (my shirt and vest) makes the cold very tolerable and it doesn’t impede my daily activities. Furthermore, the vest is stylish enough (I have the black version) to wear in public and not have people stare at you.

There is a second version of the vest coming out and is designed to be able to adjust to various sizes. It may not look as nice as this one but it functions much better.

buton

(*Disclaimer: Results may vary from person to person.)

 

5.0 out of 5 stars   Love this thing

By Evan W on December 10, 2015

Love this thing. I recently competed in an 8 week body transformation challenge and came third out of over 1000, in a large part thanks to the additional fat burning from the cold shoulder. Really appreciate what you’ve done here Wayne.

I usually wear it to bed, the coolness helps me get to sleep. Another awesome benefit. In the summer when it’s hot out, I find myself pulling it on during the day as well so that I’m less of a sweaty pig 🙂

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars    Great but can be better.

By daphaze1 on December 7, 2015

I used it for a few weeks. I been using it as a dual purpose. To loose weight and to treat my injury.

I suffer from a spinal cord injury because of a drunk driver who hit me. My neck with central spinal cord injury and my ribs are also in pain and the nerves I believe were cut and it causes me a lot of pain. The cold shoulder has helped me ice my back and my ribs, I do wish they covered my ribs though. I use them with my tens unit.

So I do recommend that if you have spinal cord injury it might help your back as well.

My weight used to be 180-190lbs. And ever since my car accident it has been difficult for me to get below 190lbs. I been eating better and correctly and that lost me 10-15lbs from like 200lbs. Now with using the cold shoulder, I been below 170lbs and not even trying to loose weight.

I use it once in the morning and once at night.

I hope this review helps those looking to purchase the cold shoulder. I think its a great product.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Mild cold exposure is really comfortable / easy to bear

By Francois Turcotte on December 7, 2015

Pros:
Mild cold exposure is really comfortable / easy to bear. Ie you don’t get too cold
The vest itself is also comfortable, you can go about whatever you were doing without the vest being annoying
Since receiving the vest, I’ve lost about two thirds of a pound each week (for 8 weeks) but I don’t wear it as much as I could, hence I believe 2 full sessions instead of just one would bear better results

Bonus:
The vest might have absolutely nothing to do with this, but I have sleep apnea and am being treated with a CPAP machine. Since using the vest, I’ve experienced better sleep and the machine readings are at their lowest ever even though I still currently weigh more than when I started treatment.

Tip:
Ice packets are much easier to insert when not frozen

Cons:
While there’s a large velcro strip to ensure you can wear the vest as you slim down, it’ll eventually reach a point where you can’t wear it anymore unless you modify it. [Note from the founder: We now offer a free downgrade in size in exchange for before+after photos.]

 
buton

(*Disclaimer: Results may vary from person to person.)

4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tool to assist with weight loss!

By Shawn S. on December 7, 2015

I’ve been wearing the vest twice a day since it arrived and I’ve been losing approximately 1lb a week with no changes to my diet or exercise habits.
The vest is very comfortable. On warmer days the cold is very refreshing and on the colder nights it’s never cold enough to make you shiver or feel uncomfortable Huge positive.

The reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is I had an extender shipped with my vest to better fit me and the stitching on one side of it was non-existent. I had to manually attempt to sew it together – otherwise this product is excellent and highly recommended!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars I highly recommend this. Please note that this is a very …

By Dan on November 22, 2015

I can literally “feel” my metabolism spinning faster after wearing this for about 45 minutes or so. I’ve been averaging just under 1 lb/week weight loss with no change in eating or drinking. I highly recommend this. Please note that this is a very very slow process here but it is as easy as they come. This is not an overnight miracle and it will take weeks and weeks to notice much of anything. I notice slightly looser fitting clothes and a scale with a smaller number on it.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect but one of the best

By David Choy on November 21, 2015

One of the best cold vests out there and the guy behind them knows what he is talking about. If there are any issues with the ice packs they will be replaced free of charge no questions asked.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars I’ve been using this best daily since it arrived

By Andrew Clinton on November 21, 2015

I’ve been using this best daily since it arrived. I wear it twice a day for an hour to an hour and a half. I actually really enjoy the cold, and it has done a good job of accelerating my weight loss. A really worthwhile investment!

 

Original testimonials from our very first prototype

*“The Cold Shoulder allowed me to cut body fat while still gaining Lean Body Mass. It’s easy to use and makes experimenting with cold exposure simple.”– Nick Hamilton

 

*“After just 2 weeks wearing The Cold Shoulder, I lost approximately 5.5% of my body fat. A loss like this for effectively doing nothing is excellent.”– Robert Camille

 

*“In addition to the extra 1.5 lbs I lost using The Cold Shoulder, my second favorite benefit was that my sleep improved. I wore it for a few minutes before bed every night and slept much more soundly than I had done for months.”– Mike Smith.

 

\*“Thanks to The Cold Shoulder, I was able to eat 6000 more calories over two weeks while having friends and family visit without any weight gain. It is great to be able to indulge a bit without losing precious progress.”– Kyle Timblin

 

*“I lost 5 lbs and an inch off my torso in just 3 weeks using The Cold Shoulder. I wore it only once or twice a day, and it was cool and comfortable.” – Jocelyn Hayes

 

*“I lost 15 lbs. in 3 weeks. I lost much of my stomach flab and it was easy to use!” – Anthony Peters

buton

(*Disclaimer: Results may vary from person to person.)

Academic Literature Quotes

“Cold exposure does not cause colds or flus.” — Castellani, John W., Ingrid K. Brenner, and Shawn G. Rhind. Cold exposure human immune responses and intracellular cytokine expression. ARMY RESEARCH  INST OF ENVIRONMENTAL MEDICINE NATICK MA, 2002.   (http://www.dtic.mil/cgi-bin/GetTRDoc?Location=U2&doc=GetTRDoc.pdf&AD=ADA411099)

Cold exposure caused a loss of body fat of 2.3kg (5lbs). — O’hara, W. J., et al. “Fat loss in the cold–a controlled study.” Journal of Applied Physiology 46.5 (1979): 872-877.  (http://jap.physiology.org/content/46/5/872)

“Thermogenesis has a role in energy balance to induce fat burning to treat obesity” – Kozak, Leslie P., and Martin E. Young. “Heat from calcium cycling melts fat.” Nature medicine 18.10 (2012): 1458-1459. (http://www.nature.com/nm/journal/v18/n10/full/nm.2956.html)

“We suggest that regular exposure to mild cold may provide a healthy and sustainable alternative strategy for increas-ing energy expenditure.” – van Marken Lichtenbelt, Wouter, et al. “Cold exposure–an approach to increasing energy expenditure in humans.” Trends in Endocrinology & Metabolism 25.4 (2014): 165. (http://www.cell.com/trends/endocrinology-metabolism/pdf/S1043-2760%2814%2900010-1.pdf)

Frequent cold exposures increase energy expenditure and may contribute to counteracting obesity.” – van der Lans, Anouk AJJ, et al. “Cold acclimation recruits human brown fat and increases nonshivering thermogenesis.” The Journal of clinical investigation 123.8 (2013): 3395-3403. (http://www.jci.org/articles/view/68993?utm_campaign=impact_2013_august&utm_content=short_url&utm_medium=pdf&utm_source=impact)

Daily 2-hour cold exposure resulted in a decrease in body fat mass.”  Yoneshiro, Takeshi, et al. “Recruited brown adipose tissue as an antiobesity agent in humans.” The Journal of clinical investigation 123.8 (2013): 3404-3408.  (http://www.jci.org/articles/view/67803?hc_location=ufi)

 

buton

(*Disclaimer: Results may vary from person to person.)

 

“Mild cold exposure provides a promising approach to treating obesity.” – Cypess, Aaron M., et al. “Cold but not sympathomimetics activates human brown adipose tissue in vivo.” Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 109.25 (2012): 10001-10005. (http://www.pnas.org/content/109/25/10001.short)

“Thermogenesis counteracts obesity and does not increase in hunger” – Cannon, Barbara, and Jan Nedergaard. “Thermogenesis challenges the adipostat hypothesis for body-weight control.” Proceedings of the Nutrition Society 68.04 (2009): 401-407. (http://journals.cambridge.org/action/displayAbstract?fromPage=online&aid=6406172&fileId=S0029665109990255)

Comments are closed.